Child DevelopmentGeographyHistoryLeisure and TourismReligious Education

Child Development

Child Development is the study of how children develop from birth until five years old. This also involves studying the role of the family and how cultural changes, role reversals and the structure of the family impacts upon the child’s development. The units studied in Child Development are

1) The family and Parenthood.

2) Pregnancy and labour

3) Diet, health and care of the child.

4) The development of the child.

5) Support for the parent and child.

Child Development enables students to gain a detailed understanding of how children develop and the different factors which affect their development. As part of the course, there are two pieces of coursework which help students to develop their skills of working independently on research tasks which are appropriate for them.  This involves them further exploring in detail a topic studied in lessons and then undertaking a study of a child, which involves them visiting a child and analysing   their development over a period of time.

Key Stage 4

Child Development is becoming a popular subject at GCSE and many of our students choose to continue this subject in their further education.

At KS4 they study the AQA Child Development syllabus.

Students take all their exams for this subject at the end of year 11.  In addition, students complete  two controlled assessments throughout year 10 and year 11, these two pieces of coursework are worth 60% of the total GCSE grade.